WILLS POWER

RACE 10 FORMULA MA

or the second year in a row, Darryl Wills (Hillenberg Motorsports) claimed the Formula Mazda championship. But while Wills had the pole position going into the race, success was far from certain.

"Doug [Peterson] has been beating me off the start for two years," said Wills after the race. "I don't know what he does, but he gets me off the starts. He's been outgunning me for eight to nine races now, so I'm used to it. But I figured it's a 13-lap race, so I wasn't too worried."

With 2004 FM Champion Peterson (3 Dimensional.com) gridded in second and the spec nature of Formula Mazda, the race came down to setup - more specifically, the trim of the rear wing.

"We had the wing trimmed out quite a bit, so braking was an issue. I couldn't take the carousel even close to flat and Darryl ate me alive there," Peterson said.

Wills agreed. "The oversteer [Peterson] had in the Carousel was vicious," he said. "I almost ran over him the first time he did it, because my car was flat-out from Turn 8 to Canada Corner. Doug commented on pre-grid that I had a lot of wing in the car. Well, I've tried running the wing trimmed out and it doesn't go through



QUALIFYING >> Pos. Driver/Region (Car) Time Session 1/Time Session 2/Time Session 3/Time Session 4; 1. Darryl Wills/Hous (Star Formula Mazda) 2.16.249 / 2.16.264 / 2.17.135 / 2.15.122; 2. Douglas Peterson/Bucc (Star Formula Mazda) 2.15.738 / 2.16.570 / 2.17.953 / 2.15.684: 3. Steve Jenks/CIN (Star Formula Mazda) 2.17.612 / 2.18.628 / 2.17.418 / 2.15.946; 4. Alan McCallum/Hous (Star Formula Mazda) 2.17.041 / 2.18.750 / 2.19.015 / 2.15.982: 5. Dale Vandenbush/Milw (Star Formula Mazda) 2.16.865 / 2.17.738 / 2.16.614 / 2.16.321; 6. Jason Vinkemulder/Milw (Star Formula Mazda) No time / No time / 2.16.998 / 2.16.379: 7. Juan R Marchand/WMR (Sta Formula Mazda) 2.17.720 / 2.18.795 / 2.18.276 / 2.18.595; 8. Stuart Rettie/Hous (Star Formula Mazda) 2.23.267 / 2.18.277 / 2.18.352 / 2.17.886: 9. Robert Noell/NCR (Star Formula Mazda) 2.18.124 / 2.26.067 / 2.19.864 / 2.18.073; 10. Curt Harrelson/TVR (Star Formula Mazda) 2.20.354 / No time / 2.20.375 / 2.18.149; 11. Mel Kemper/Nwst (Star Formula Mazda) 2.19.478 / 2.19.092 / 2.18.578 / 2.18.402: 12. Ken De Nault/DMV (Star Formula Mazda) No time / No time / 2.24.483 / 2.20.063; 13. Russell Hillenburg/Hous

(Star Formula Mazda) No time / No time / No time / 2.20.239; 14. Rodney Jessen/Nwst (Star Formula Mazda)

RACE > 13 laps, 52 Miles: Pos. Driver (Laps); 1. Darryl

Wills (13); 2. Douglas Peterson (13); 3. Alan McCallum (13);

4. Steve Jenks (13): 5. Jason Vinkemulder (13): 6. Dale Vandenbush (13); 7. Mel Kemper (13); 8. Curt Harrelson (13);

9. Juan R Marchand (13): 10. Robert Noell (12): 11. Russel Hillenburg (12); 12. Ken De Nault (12); 13. Stuart Rettie (8); Overall Time of Race: 30.24.763; Average Race Speed: 102.589 mph; Margin of Victory: 10.308 seconds; Hawk

Fastest Race Lap: 2.14.732 (106.879 mph); Lap Leaders:

#87 Laps 1 - 2, #1 Laps 3 - 13; Sunoco Hard Charger: #4

No time / No time / No time / No time

Mel Kemper

RACE 10

the Carousel worth a flip."

The race played out neatly. Peterson got a great start and was first into Turn 1, followed by Alan McCallum (Moses Smith Racing), Wills, 2009 Champion Juan Marchand and Steve Jenks.

"I was fortunate to get the start I did," said Peterson. "I knew Darryl would give me room when I needed it, and that we wouldn't touch. Darryl and Alan are great drivers and we all have great cars. The cars are as equal as they can be."

After the start, Wills quickly worked his way back up to the front of the field.

"I was in second behind Doug [Peterson], but then Darryl [Wills] passed me by Turn 3. His car was hooked up," McCallum said.

Wills took over the lead on lap three and built up an impressive lead of more than three seconds before encountering some of the Formula Enterprises cars which they were sharing the race group with. Wills passed the hindmost FE car in lap seven, which cut his lead momentarily, but by the time the checker flew, he had extended his lead to 10.308sec and set the Hawk Fastest Race Lap at 2:14.732. Wills was followed across the line by Peterson, McCallum and Jenks.

With the win, Wills became the second Super Sweep winner at the Runoffs, winning his Divisional points race, a Super Sweep qualifying race and laying claim to the National Championship.

"I've been racing for 37 years," said Wills. "I've done about everything on wheels. When I started road racing, they had the Triple Crown and now they have the Super Sweep. Those are really tough to win."

Jeff Zurschmeide

Darryl Wills (CENTER) made it two in a row with his FM win over second-place finisher Douglas Paterson (TOP) and Alan McCallum, third (LEFT).



